Fourth Chakra

This is the heart chakra and its place is self-explanatory. This is the divine sphere of spiritual growth, love, resilience and high ideals. A congested heart chakra makes us overly critical of both others and ourselves. In this condition, we find it difficult to open ourselves to possibilities for love and friendship. Conversely, if our heart is too big, we may attempt to do the impossible, trying to carry the weight of the world.

The heart chakra is the integration point for the seven in-body chakras. While we’ve been busy developing our way up the chakric ladder, our spiritual center, the seventh chakra, has been sending energy down, initially through the baby’s soft spot. If we and our parents have given this spiritual energy an important role in our life, we will naturally understand relationships and love ourselves. We will know when to give, to receive, to be compassionate, to be firm, and/or to be self-protective. Experiences and beliefs disturbing this natural give–and-take cycle will inhibit the openness of our relationships. Our desires, dreams, and needs may then become stunted might our ability to accept love. Part of being loved involves learning how to accept our purpose and our spiritual needs. If we allow our heart’s desires to be met, we often find that the dreams of our body, mind, soul, essence, and the Divine Source are all the same.  This truth accentuates the heart’s role in supporting our fantasies.


Point: Heart

Color: Green

Emotions: Balance Harmony, Peace, Abundance, Love yourself, Release (heart related emotions), Growth/New Beginnings

Tone: F F#

Vowel: AH

Crystal Correction: Placed up the heart, green jasper helps us feel secure enough to open up and reveal ourselves. This facilitates honest and joyful communication. For a heart with no bounds try peridot. This pale, pastel green stone also recharges us by calming us down. Peridot allows us to be sympathetic but not sacrificial. Other crystals and gems: Chryoprase, Emerald, rose Quartz, Kunzite, Green & Pink Tourmaline, Green Jade, Green Adventurine

Location: Left side of chest

Essential Oil: Valor

Kabbalah: Tiphareth – Jehovah Aloah Va Daath – God of Knowledge (Divine aspect that creates through the power of mind)

Archangel Most Accessible: Raphael – Angel of brightness and healing. (Ministers all healing energies, healer of the divine)

Spirits Most Accessible: Malachim – Virtue or Angelic Kings (Bestow grace; guardian angels; workers of miracles)

Age: 4 ½ to 6 ½

Mental Belief: Contains beliefs about relationships, love, heart’s desires, and universal principles such a giving and receiving.

Feeling Component: Origin of feelings such as compassion and love.

Physical Processes: Time for refining all physical functions and systems. The initial time for distinguishing girl/boyhood differentiations.

Spiritual Perceptions: Issues regarding self-love, love for others and the overall role of love in life. Here, the soul “heartily” deals with issues about having a body and using it to achieve desires.

Psychological: Growth and renewal. Balance between mind and body. Serenity, Calmness both to you and those you come in contact with. Self-distinction, self-love

Element: Airy Center

Mantra: I am enough which allows me to release freed and freely give.

Physical: Respiration, Circulation, Lungs.

Jnana Mudra: (Gesture of divine wisdom) Symbolizes the wisdom of God. Sit cross-legged. Let the tips of your index finger and thumb touch. Put your left hand on your left knee and your right hand in front of the lower part of your breast bone (so a bit above the solar plexus).

Additional Chakras